The Road Beckons

packing_list_l_america_smlWelcome, friends! if this is your first visit, you couldn’t have arrived at a better time. With summer in full swing – heat waves, allergies, cicadas, you name it – I decided to brighten up the blog. The new logo comes courtesy of Rachel Gall, a fellow Millennial scribe and graphic designer. I highly recommend checking out her work over at So-Called Millennials.

As you can see, I’ve spent the past month attempting to stuff an entire summer’s worth of clothing, toiletries, and computing equipment into a relatively modest backpack. Sacrifices had to be made, and some – the fluffy sleeping bag, the club shoes, my copy of George Carlin’s Brain Droppings – were particularly crushing. But this coming Sunday, I’ll be checking the final load at Logan Airport and flying straight to Seattle, where the Drive All Night interview tour will begin.

104-entry-door-&-stairsThe first leg of the trip already promises intriguing Millennial experiences. I’ll be talking to a globe-trotting coffee expert, a food truck entrepreneur and operator, and even the founder of an academy for Los Angeles students and educators! And that’s just a lick of the west coast. Wait until we reach the Rockies…

I’m thrilled to share this adveture with each and every one of you. Stay tuned for another pre-departure update this week!

Cheers,

Miles

2 thoughts on “The Road Beckons

  1. Timothy Hallinan

    Miles, how I envy you. The most fun I’ve had in years was a 6,000-mile book tour that I drove (actually bought a new car to do it). It took me from LA as far east and south as New Orleans and as far north and west as Seattle, with a lot of looping around before dropping from Seattle through another five towns on the way back to L.A. Just me, the car, and 9,000 music cuts, plus a couple of books. At almost every bookstore, they gave me a new book, and that was when I first read Roberto Bolano and Paolo Bacigalupi, among others, and where I actually met and got to spend an evening with James Lee Burke. I hope you have a wonderful time, and I’ll be following along here.

    Reply
    1. mileswhoward Post author

      Wow, Tim – I’d love to do something along those lines in the near future. I’ve packed a heft load of literature for the bus trips. Great to hear from you, and thanks for the good tidings.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

